Summer Reading List

I love to read.  There is no better way to spend a few hours then by reading a good book.  And by good, I mean the ones that you start reading and have to force yourself to stop reading so you can make dinner.  The ones that you plan to read for ten minutes before bed, but find yourself still reading at midnight.  And summertime seems to be the best time for reading.  Whether at the beach or hanging out in my own backyard, having a few good books to read is essential for a summer well spent.  I know I’m always looking for a few good books to read, and I thought you might be too!   So here is a list of five of my favorite  books.  Perhaps one will make it onto your summertime reading list!

1)  The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger.  This is absolutely one of my all time favorite books.  The movie was good, but the book was ten times better.  If you were thinking of seeing the movie, be sure you’ve read the book first.  A friend of mine saw the movie before reading the book, and commented that the book had less emotional impact because she knew what was coming.

2)  Outer Banks, by Anne Rivers Siddons.  I have read and enjoyed almost all of Siddon’s books, but this is my favorite.  It’s a fast paced story of four friends who meet in college during the 60s, then reunite in Nag’s Hag, North Carolina after 30 years.   I couldn’t put this book down.

3)  The Last Convertible, by Anton Myrer.  A great story about five Harvard students coming of age during World War II. Myrer tells the story of their friendships, relationships, and their love for their car, the Empress.  A great summertime read.

4)  Gift From the Sea, by Anne Morrow Lindbergh.  I reread this book almost every summer, if for no other reason than it makes me feel like I’m sitting on the beach with my feet in the ocean water.  Lindbergh intertwines her observations about life, love, aging, and obligations with her observations of the ocean, beach, and seashells.  Not very long, it’s the perfect book to take with you on your trip to the beach.

5)  The Gift of and Ordinary Day, by Katrina Kenison.  I would recommend this book to every mother I know.  Kenison tells the story of relocating from a suburb of Boston to a rural New Hampshire town, where she and her family invest a lot of time, energy, and money fixing up a run down two hundred year old summer cottage.  In the midst of relocating and renovating, Kenison writes so eloquently about her two sons growing up and preparing to leave home.  As a mother of three young children, it reminded me to stop and appreciate the time we have together.

Do you have any favorite books?  I would love to hear about them!

2 Comments

  1. You should be the new Oprah! Imagine sipping wine out of a polish pottery goblet, eating cheese off a polish pottery plate while reading all your chick book recommendations! I’m just now checking out your blog. Very cool!

    • Thanks, Bryan! Too bad Oprah’s show is over, or we could send her some polish pottery to show on her Favorite Things episode at Christmas time! Any good summer reading recommendations?

Leave a Reply

